Restricted Travel

UCF encourages international travel in the pursuit of our global strategy and academic mission while aiming to make those travels as safe as possible. To this end, UCF constantly monitors global health, safety, and security information. In accordance with UCF Policy, Florida statutes, and U.S. law, certain destinations have been identified as “restricted”.

Regardless of destination, all faculty, staff, and students are asked to register their university sponsored international travel prior to departure. This registration entitles the traveler to automatic enrollment in the Accident/Sickness insurance policy, access to travel, assistance services, and allows administrations to quickly locate travelers when an emergency occurs.


Prior approval by the provost or provost designee is required for travel to countries for which the U.S. Department of State has issued a Level 3 or Level 4 Travel Advisory or for which the Center for Disease Control (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Travel Warning for which university funds will be used, academic credit provided and/or there is an implied connection to the university. The university may also restrict certain other destinations, at its discretion, where the security, health, and/or political situation is unstable. This restriction does not apply to privately funded travel that is not related to university business or is in no way affiliated to UCF (e.g., a personal vacation).

For more information, please read UCF Policy 2-903.

While most exception decisions take less than 10 days, some travel can require up to 90 days for applicable licenses. Please plan accordingly.

Questions or concerns may be directed to International Health & Safety at

Restricted Travel Locations

The following destinations are exempt from this process for faculty/staff only.
All graduate and undergraduate students must file a Travel Approval Petition for all restricted countries.

North America

  • Mexico

Central America

  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Cuba
  • Nicaragua

South America

  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Venezuela
  • Bolivia


  • Afghanistan
  • Iran
  • Libya
  • Chad
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Territory
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Turkey


  • Burundi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Central African Republic
  • Burkina
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Uganda


  • Hong Kong
  • Bangladesh
  • Philippines
  • Afghanistan
  • North Korea
  • Pakistan


  • Ukraine

Exceptions to Restricted Travel

The following destinations are exempt from this process for faculty/staff only.
All graduate and undergraduate students must file a Travel Approval Petition for all restricted countries.

  • Bogota, Colombia
  • Cartagena, Colombia
  • Medellin, Colombia
  • Cairo, Egypt
  • Bethlehem, Israel
  • Haifa, Israel
  • Jerusalem, Israel
  • Tel Aviv, Israel
  • Baja California, Mexico
  • Queretaro, Mexico
  • Quintana Roo, Mexico
  • Tabasco, Mexico
  • Tlaxcala, Mexico
  • Baja California Sur, Mexico
  • Campeche, Mexico
  • Cancun, Mexico
  • Chiapas, Mexico
  • Cozumel Mexico
  • Estado De Mexico, Mexico
  • Guanajuato, Mexico
  • Hidalgo, Mexico
  • Puebla, Mexico
  • Veracruz, Mexico
  • Yucatan, Mexico
  • Kyiv, Ukraine
  • Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Additional Information

Process to Seek an Exception

  1. Complete the online Travel Authorization Petition. Refer to this guide for detailed instructions.
  2. This form will be routed to the Dean and Chair of your academic unit, Export Control, UCF Global for review, and the Provost/ Provost Designee for final exception decision.
  3. Progress of your form can be tracked via the online portal through which you submit the request.

Countries Classified as a Terrorist State

  • Countries under U.S. Sanction, embargo or that are working on sensitive projects or equipment, may require additional government approval.
  • Questions or concerns may be directed to the Office of Export Compliance.

Countries Classified as a Terrorist State


According to Chapter 1011 (6), Florida Statutes:

  • There is no process to approve travel using any university funds to the following countries: Iran, Sudan and Syria, and Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea).
  • “None of the state or non-state funds made available to state universities may be used to implement, organize, direct, coordinate, or administer, or to support the implementation, organization, direction, coordination, or administration of, activities related to or involving travel to a terrorist state.”

Travel to Cuba

The United States government has reestablished diplomatic relations with Cuba. This action, together with the removal of Cuba from the State Department’s list of countries that sponsor terrorism, means that UCF and other public universities in Florida are no longer prohibited from using university dollars to pay for faculty travel to Cuba in furtherance of the university’s educational activities.

Your travel must still comply with the requirements for general licenses established by the federal government, or if not, a special license must be obtained, in accordance with the amended regulations announced by the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the U.S. Department of Treasury.

All existing university policies and procedures applicable to foreign travel will apply to travel to Cuba as well. You may also consult the U.S. State Department’s website for additional travel-related information.